Chili’s Wild or Mild Review & Giveaway – Frugal Novice

Chili’s Wild or Mild Review & Giveaway

I was wild.

Yep, that’s right – me. Wild.

With the menu at Chili’s, anyway.

Chili’s has a new “Wild or Mild” menu right now and Brian and I got the chance to go review it. My family loves Chili’s, so this was right up our alley. Seriously, J asks to go to Chili’s any time we pass it! This time we left the boys at our friends’ house (thanks, friends!) and got to enjoy a date night.

On the “Wild or Mild” menu, there’s an equal counterpart in dish options on either side. You can choose from:

  • Kicked Up Queso or Skillet Queso
  • Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites or Big Mouth Bites
  • Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas or Bacon Ranch Chicken Quesadillas
  • Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers or Crispy Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers

We tend to like our food spicy, so we took a walk on the wild side and ordered the Kicked Up Queso, Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites and the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers.

The Kicked Up Queso has the regular skillet queso base with chipotle spice, pico de gallo and fire-roasted jalapenos added to well, kick up the flavor a bit. I’ve always been a fan of the skillet queso, and liked this too. What did Brian think?

Brian ordered the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites for his entree. This consists of four peppercorn-crusted mini burgers with jalapeno-mayo, jalapenos and American cheese. Just like the regular Big Mouth Bites, they’re served with crispy onion strings and homestyle fries.

And I ordered the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers. I have had them before and love them, and the spiciness sounded really good so I went ahead and kept with the “wild” theme for the menu.

We loved everything we tried, so much that we decided we’d probably end up ordering the exact same things next time we eat at Chili’s. Brian said the burgers are some of his favorite he’s had because the level of spiciness is just right, and I especially hope they keep the Kicked Up Queso. Speaking of Queso, click the coupon below to sign up for Chili’s e-mail club and you’ll get a coupon for a FREE queso!


Right now Chili’s has a fun promotional site, Shout Out to Eat Out. Go create your Wild or Mild avatar and you’ll be entered in a daily contest to win a $20 Chili’s gift card. The avatar with the most votes at the end of the promotion will win a trip to Vegas (Wild) or Disney (Mild)! Check out my avatar – don’t I look, um… interesting?

You probably noticed the “giveaway” in the title of this post, and are wondering just what I’m giving away. Well, wonder no longer…

One lucky reader will win a $20 gift card to Chili’s so you can try out their great menu items for yourself! This contest is open to all U.S. and Canadian residents. Entries will be accepted until the end of the day (midnight CST) Monday, April 4.

Mandatory Entry: Are you Wild or Mild with your food choices? Answer below and also tell me which item from the Wild or Mild menu you’re most excited about trying.

(Only valid after the required entry has been completed)

Please leave a comment for each extra entry – if you blog about this giveaway and get 3 entries, for example, comment 3 times.

  • Click the Facebook “Share” button below this post to share it on your FB wall {2 extra entries}
  • Click the “Tweet” button below this post to share it on your Twitter feed –  can do up to two times per day {1 extra entry per tweet}
  • Blog about this giveaway and link it back here {3 extra entries}
  • Sign up to get my updates in your e-mail {2 extra entries}
  • Subscribe to my RSS feed {2 extra entries}
  • Follow me on Twitter {1 extra entry}
  • “Like” Frugal Novice on Facebook {1 extra entry}
  • Unlimited Extra Entry Option: Leave a NEW comment on as many other posts as you like and get one entry for each comment (entering another giveaway counts too). Be sure to let me know which posts you commented on below.

Note: Chili’s provided me with a gift card to review their Wild or Mild Menu and one gift card for this giveaway. Any opinions provided in this post are honest and are my own.

You Might Also Like

  • Allison lee March 19, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    i normally like iw wild and would probably try the honey chipolty chicken crispers.

  • Eve March 19, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    I am WILD! I would love to try the jalepeno chicken quesadilla

    shopgurl101 at gmail dot com

  • Kim March 20, 2011 at 8:01 am

    I think both sides look good, but I’d probably try the Crispy Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers
    first :).

  • Mami2jcn March 20, 2011 at 8:47 am

    I’m usually mild but I’d like to try the Margarita Grilled Chicken from the Wild Menu.

  • Mami2jcn March 20, 2011 at 8:49 am

    I clicked on the Facebook share button. My FB username is Mary Happymommy

    #1

  • Mami2jcn March 20, 2011 at 8:49 am

    I clicked on the Facebook share button. My FB username is Mary Happymommy

    #2

  • Mami2jcn March 20, 2011 at 8:51 am

    tweet-http://twitter.com/mami2jcn/status/49467937215619072

  • Mami2jcn March 20, 2011 at 8:51 am

    I subscribe to your emails

    #1

  • Mami2jcn March 20, 2011 at 8:52 am

    I subscribe to your emails

    #2

  • Mami2jcn March 20, 2011 at 8:53 am

    I follow you on Twitter (@mami2jcn)

  • Mami2jcn March 20, 2011 at 8:54 am

    I like you on Facebook with my username Mary Happymommy.

  • Adrienne Gordon March 20, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I want the kicked up queso.

  • Jaclyn Reynolds March 20, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Mild all the time,lol.

  • Marilyn Wons March 20, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I am mild and I would like to try the Big Mouth Bites

  • Shannon Baas March 20, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I like the mild.

  • Rebecca Graham March 20, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I am Wild and I would order the Jalapeno Chicken Quesadilla.

  • Theron N.Willis March 20, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    I like mine WILD. I’d choose the Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas. That served with cold Mexican beer, for an enhanced South of the border experience. Ole!

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    I’d have to try the Wild Side…the Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas to be specific!

    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I shared the giveaway on my FB page #1
    http://www.facebook.com/aeris321/posts/141548559244900

    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    I shared the giveaway on my FB page #2
    http://www.facebook.com/aeris321/posts/141548559244900

    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    I tweeted #1
    http://twitter.com/#!/aeris321/status/49539074503081985

    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.
    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    I subscribe to your blog via Google Reader. #1
    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I subscribe to your blog via Google Reader. #2
    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I follow you on Twitter (@aeris321)
    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • Kristen March 20, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I like you on FB (Kristen H)
    aeris321 at gmail dot com

  • alycep March 20, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    I am on the Wild side-the Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas would be my first pick.

  • ohkeeka March 20, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I guess I’m more Mild. I’d try the Big Mouth Burgers, if they can make them with the black bean patties.

  • ohkeeka March 20, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    I follow you on Twitter (@ohkeeka)

  • ohkeeka March 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I’m an email subscriber (entry #1)

  • ohkeeka March 20, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    I’m an email subscriber (entry #2)

  • ohkeeka March 20, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    I’m an RSS subscriber (entry #1)

  • ohkeeka March 20, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I’m an RSS subscriber (entry #2)

  • Vanderbilt Wife March 20, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I am much more of a mild person, but I have had the honey chipotle chicken crispers and they are fabulous! I could dig into a plate right now …

  • Vanderbilt Wife March 20, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    I like you on FB!

  • Stacy March 20, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    I am mild and would like to try some quesadilla’s!!

  • Denise S March 20, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    I’m more wild. I would try the Shiner Bock BBQ Burger.
    lazybones344 at gmail dot com

  • Denise S March 20, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    I follow you on twitter: @lazybones344

  • Chalice K. March 20, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Wild – Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers

  • sandy March 20, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    want to try the kicked up queso- love their queso so why not kick it up a notch
    love the fajitas

  • Margaret Smith March 20, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    I’m more on the mild side. I’d like to try the Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers
    Thanks so much.
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com

  • Margaret Smith March 20, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I shared on FB:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/permalink.php?story_fbid=210366215647038&id=617683283
    Thanks
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com
    Entry 1

  • Margaret Smith March 20, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I shared on FB:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/permalink.php?story_fbid=210366215647038&id=617683283
    Thanks
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com
    Entry 2

  • Margaret Smith March 20, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    I tweeted:
    http://twitter.com/peg42/status/49568857798610945
    Thanks
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com

  • Margaret Smith March 20, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.
    Thanks
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com
    Entry 1

  • Margaret Smith March 20, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.
    Thanks
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com
    Entry 2

  • Margaret Smith March 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    I’m a twitter follower (peg42)
    Thanks
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com

  • Margaret Smith March 20, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    I’m a FB friend (Margaret E. Smith)
    Thanks
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com

  • Amber March 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I’m more wild and I’d love to try the Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas

  • 1 2 3 10