Chili’s Wild or Mild Review & Giveaway – Frugal Novice

Chili’s Wild or Mild Review & Giveaway

I was wild.

Yep, that’s right – me. Wild.

With the menu at Chili’s, anyway.

Chili’s has a new “Wild or Mild” menu right now and Brian and I got the chance to go review it. My family loves Chili’s, so this was right up our alley. Seriously, J asks to go to Chili’s any time we pass it! This time we left the boys at our friends’ house (thanks, friends!) and got to enjoy a date night.

On the “Wild or Mild” menu, there’s an equal counterpart in dish options on either side. You can choose from:

  • Kicked Up Queso or Skillet Queso
  • Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites or Big Mouth Bites
  • Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas or Bacon Ranch Chicken Quesadillas
  • Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers or Crispy Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers

We tend to like our food spicy, so we took a walk on the wild side and ordered the Kicked Up Queso, Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites and the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers.

The Kicked Up Queso has the regular skillet queso base with chipotle spice, pico de gallo and fire-roasted jalapenos added to well, kick up the flavor a bit. I’ve always been a fan of the skillet queso, and liked this too. What did Brian think?

Brian ordered the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites for his entree. This consists of four peppercorn-crusted mini burgers with jalapeno-mayo, jalapenos and American cheese. Just like the regular Big Mouth Bites, they’re served with crispy onion strings and homestyle fries.

And I ordered the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers. I have had them before and love them, and the spiciness sounded really good so I went ahead and kept with the “wild” theme for the menu.

We loved everything we tried, so much that we decided we’d probably end up ordering the exact same things next time we eat at Chili’s. Brian said the burgers are some of his favorite he’s had because the level of spiciness is just right, and I especially hope they keep the Kicked Up Queso. Speaking of Queso, click the coupon below to sign up for Chili’s e-mail club and you’ll get a coupon for a FREE queso!


Right now Chili’s has a fun promotional site, Shout Out to Eat Out. Go create your Wild or Mild avatar and you’ll be entered in a daily contest to win a $20 Chili’s gift card. The avatar with the most votes at the end of the promotion will win a trip to Vegas (Wild) or Disney (Mild)! Check out my avatar – don’t I look, um… interesting?

You probably noticed the “giveaway” in the title of this post, and are wondering just what I’m giving away. Well, wonder no longer…

One lucky reader will win a $20 gift card to Chili’s so you can try out their great menu items for yourself! This contest is open to all U.S. and Canadian residents. Entries will be accepted until the end of the day (midnight CST) Monday, April 4.

Mandatory Entry: Are you Wild or Mild with your food choices? Answer below and also tell me which item from the Wild or Mild menu you’re most excited about trying.

(Only valid after the required entry has been completed)

Please leave a comment for each extra entry – if you blog about this giveaway and get 3 entries, for example, comment 3 times.

  • Click the Facebook “Share” button below this post to share it on your FB wall {2 extra entries}
  • Click the “Tweet” button below this post to share it on your Twitter feed –  can do up to two times per day {1 extra entry per tweet}
  • Blog about this giveaway and link it back here {3 extra entries}
  • Sign up to get my updates in your e-mail {2 extra entries}
  • Subscribe to my RSS feed {2 extra entries}
  • Follow me on Twitter {1 extra entry}
  • “Like” Frugal Novice on Facebook {1 extra entry}
  • Unlimited Extra Entry Option: Leave a NEW comment on as many other posts as you like and get one entry for each comment (entering another giveaway counts too). Be sure to let me know which posts you commented on below.

Note: Chili’s provided me with a gift card to review their Wild or Mild Menu and one gift card for this giveaway. Any opinions provided in this post are honest and are my own.

You Might Also Like

  • Lisa Weidknecht March 21, 2011 at 10:29 am

    I love wild food and want to try the new queso!

  • Lisa Weidknecht March 21, 2011 at 10:29 am

    I shared this on Facebook!

  • Lisa Weidknecht March 21, 2011 at 10:30 am

    I shared this on Facebook! (two)

  • Lisa Weidknecht March 21, 2011 at 10:31 am

    I am an email subscriber!

  • Lisa Weidknecht March 21, 2011 at 10:31 am

    I am an email subscriber! (two)

  • Lisa Weidknecht March 21, 2011 at 10:33 am

    I like you on Facebook!

  • carrie March 21, 2011 at 10:35 am

    wild… would love to try the blazin big mouth too. looks wonderful!!!!!! tyvm

  • nicole March 21, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    I would like to try the skillet queso from the mild menu.

  • Alison March 21, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    I’m “wild” for sure. Those honey-chipotle chicken crispers looked really good! I’m a sucker for “sweet heat”. :)

  • Brandi March 21, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    We love the skillet queso so I’d like to try the kicked up queso. The honey chipotle chicken crispers are a fav in the house as well :)

  • Lynda E. March 21, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Wild – the hotter the better! I want to try the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites.

  • Sarah Hirsch March 21, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    i’m mild

  • Kate March 21, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I like it mild and I want to try the Bacon Ranch Chicken Quesadillas and my hubby would LOVE the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites

  • Sharon Harmon March 21, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I’m very WILD! If it doesn’t melt my eyebrows, it ain’t hot! lol!
    I’d like to try their Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas! Mmm! ;)

  • Karen Gonyea March 21, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I’d LOVE to try the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites :)

    ktgonyea (GFC)

  • Jacquelyn Cannon March 21, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I’d love to try the Crispy Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers (MILD).

  • Karen Gonyea March 21, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    GFC Follower :)

    ktgonyea

  • Jessica March 21, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    I am wild with food choices. I would love to try the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers

  • Jessica March 21, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I tweeted
    http://twitter.com/jjak2003/status/49929829679771649

  • Jessica March 21, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I subscribe to your e-mail updates

  • Jessica March 21, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I subscribe to your e-mail updates 2

  • Jessica March 21, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I like your blog on facebook (Jessica Miller)

  • Kelly March 21, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Definitely wild… the spicier the food, the happier I am! I think the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites sound amazing. I always add jalapenos to my burgers when I make them at home. :)

  • EMMA L HORTON March 21, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    I AM MILD AND I LIKE THE CHICKEN CRISPERS

  • EMMA L HORTON March 21, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    e-mail subscriber

  • EMMA L HORTON March 21, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    E-MAIL SUBSCRIBER #2

  • Linda Lansford March 21, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    I want mild ribs

  • Linda Lansford March 21, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    I sub to email

  • Linda Lansford March 21, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    I sub to email2

  • Denise B. March 21, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    I’m wild as a person but mild when it comes to my food. I would get the chicken crispers plain with ranch dressing for dipping.

  • Monique Rizzo March 21, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I am usually mild. Id love the try the Bacon Chicken Quesadillas
    Thanks for the chance
    mogrill12@yahoo.com

  • John Stetson March 21, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    I’d love to try the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers

  • Deborah Wellenstein March 21, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I am definitely mild-I would love their Fried Shrimp.

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  • Deborah Wellenstein March 21, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I am an email subscrbier. #1

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  • Deborah Wellenstein March 21, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I am an email subscriber. #2

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  • Deborah Wellenstein March 21, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I subscribe via Google Reader. #1

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  • Deborah Wellenstein March 21, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I subscribe via Google Reader. #2

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  • Deborah Wellenstein March 21, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    I like you on facebook as Debbi Otto Wellenstein.

    dwellenstein at cox dot net

  • Tracie Trump March 21, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    I am a MILD girl and would love to try the big mouth bites! tracietrump@yahoo.com

  • Tracie Trump March 21, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    MIld! I love their steak fajitas! tracietrump@yahoo.com

  • Tracie Trump March 21, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Shared this post on FB entry 1! tracietrump@yahoo.com

  • Tracie Trump March 21, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Shared this post FB entry 2! tracietrump@yahoo.com

  • Tracie Trump March 21, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Follow you via twitter@tmt121172 tracietrump@yahoo.com

  • Tracie Trump March 21, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Like you on FB! tracietrump@yahoo.com

  • Jacob LaFountaine March 21, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I’m much more on the mild side. I’d try the Big Mouth Bites

  • angie March 21, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    I would be mild with the Big Mouth Bites.

  • Ashley March 22, 2011 at 11:44 am

    I am mild and I want to try their crispy maple chicken
    agatewood1@ymail.com

  • Ashley March 22, 2011 at 11:47 am

    I subscribe via google reader
    agatewood1@ymail.com
    #1

  • 1 2 3 4 5 10