Chili’s Wild or Mild Review & Giveaway – Frugal Novice

Chili’s Wild or Mild Review & Giveaway

I was wild.

Yep, that’s right – me. Wild.

With the menu at Chili’s, anyway.

Chili’s has a new “Wild or Mild” menu right now and Brian and I got the chance to go review it. My family loves Chili’s, so this was right up our alley. Seriously, J asks to go to Chili’s any time we pass it! This time we left the boys at our friends’ house (thanks, friends!) and got to enjoy a date night.

On the “Wild or Mild” menu, there’s an equal counterpart in dish options on either side. You can choose from:

  • Kicked Up Queso or Skillet Queso
  • Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites or Big Mouth Bites
  • Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas or Bacon Ranch Chicken Quesadillas
  • Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers or Crispy Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers

We tend to like our food spicy, so we took a walk on the wild side and ordered the Kicked Up Queso, Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites and the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers.

The Kicked Up Queso has the regular skillet queso base with chipotle spice, pico de gallo and fire-roasted jalapenos added to well, kick up the flavor a bit. I’ve always been a fan of the skillet queso, and liked this too. What did Brian think?

Brian ordered the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites for his entree. This consists of four peppercorn-crusted mini burgers with jalapeno-mayo, jalapenos and American cheese. Just like the regular Big Mouth Bites, they’re served with crispy onion strings and homestyle fries.

And I ordered the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers. I have had them before and love them, and the spiciness sounded really good so I went ahead and kept with the “wild” theme for the menu.

We loved everything we tried, so much that we decided we’d probably end up ordering the exact same things next time we eat at Chili’s. Brian said the burgers are some of his favorite he’s had because the level of spiciness is just right, and I especially hope they keep the Kicked Up Queso. Speaking of Queso, click the coupon below to sign up for Chili’s e-mail club and you’ll get a coupon for a FREE queso!


Right now Chili’s has a fun promotional site, Shout Out to Eat Out. Go create your Wild or Mild avatar and you’ll be entered in a daily contest to win a $20 Chili’s gift card. The avatar with the most votes at the end of the promotion will win a trip to Vegas (Wild) or Disney (Mild)! Check out my avatar – don’t I look, um… interesting?

You probably noticed the “giveaway” in the title of this post, and are wondering just what I’m giving away. Well, wonder no longer…

One lucky reader will win a $20 gift card to Chili’s so you can try out their great menu items for yourself! This contest is open to all U.S. and Canadian residents. Entries will be accepted until the end of the day (midnight CST) Monday, April 4.

Mandatory Entry: Are you Wild or Mild with your food choices? Answer below and also tell me which item from the Wild or Mild menu you’re most excited about trying.

(Only valid after the required entry has been completed)

Please leave a comment for each extra entry – if you blog about this giveaway and get 3 entries, for example, comment 3 times.

  • Click the Facebook “Share” button below this post to share it on your FB wall {2 extra entries}
  • Click the “Tweet” button below this post to share it on your Twitter feed –  can do up to two times per day {1 extra entry per tweet}
  • Blog about this giveaway and link it back here {3 extra entries}
  • Sign up to get my updates in your e-mail {2 extra entries}
  • Subscribe to my RSS feed {2 extra entries}
  • Follow me on Twitter {1 extra entry}
  • “Like” Frugal Novice on Facebook {1 extra entry}
  • Unlimited Extra Entry Option: Leave a NEW comment on as many other posts as you like and get one entry for each comment (entering another giveaway counts too). Be sure to let me know which posts you commented on below.

Note: Chili’s provided me with a gift card to review their Wild or Mild Menu and one gift card for this giveaway. Any opinions provided in this post are honest and are my own.

You Might Also Like

  • Lucy March 26, 2011 at 10:03 am

    I just entered your Propel Zero giveaway. :)

  • Aline March 26, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I’d definitely go for the Wild menu and I want to try the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers. If your gonna eat junk food you might as well go all the way.

  • Ellie W March 26, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    I’m generally on the mild side with food choices but this time I’m venturing onto the wild side. I’d love to try that kicked up queso.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    eswright18 at gmail dot com

  • Carrie K March 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I usually like my flavors leaning toward Wild, but not to the extreme.
    I’d like to try the Crispy Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers.

  • Carrie K March 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I entered the Propel giveaway

  • Jessica March 26, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    3/26 daily tweet
    http://twitter.com/jjak2003/status/51728925210050560

  • Alisha L. March 26, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    I am mild, nothing too spicy here. I’d like to try the Big Mouth Bites.

    bakergurl02 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  • Alisha L. March 26, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    Tweeted:

    http://twitter.com/Xizelle/status/51842189420011520

    bakergurl02 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  • Alisha L. March 26, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    #1 Signed up for Email Updates.

    bakergurl02 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  • Alisha L. March 26, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    #2 Signed up for Email Updates.

    bakergurl02 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  • Alisha L. March 26, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Twitter Follower of yours @Xizelle

    bakergurl02 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  • Alisha L. March 26, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    FB Fan of yours @Alisha Lesage

    bakergurl02 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  • Karin March 27, 2011 at 10:53 am

    mild
    The Bacon Ranch Chicken Quesadillas sound yummy.

  • Karin March 27, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Entered the Propel giveaway

  • Eugenie March 27, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I’m wild. I like the Kicked Up Queso.

  • Eugenie March 27, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardewu/status/52063673249832961

  • Mary Elderton March 27, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    tweet
    http://twitter.com/#!/mbm218/status/52085028104056832

  • Jessica March 27, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    3/27 daily tweet
    http://twitter.com/jjak2003/status/52103715687116800

  • Howell March 27, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I’m wild. I would go with the Boneless Buffalo Wings.

  • Howell March 27, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardhlee/status/52143309770076160

  • Howell March 27, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    I entered the Sheyna Jewelry giveaway.

  • Howell March 27, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I entered the Happy Easter Store giveaway.

  • Eugenie March 27, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardewu/status/52170077667209216

  • Eugenie March 27, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I entered the Sheyna Jewelry giveaway.

  • Eugenie March 27, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I entered the Happy Easter Store giveaway.

  • Howell March 27, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardhlee/status/52199203522347009

  • Tara March 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    http://chicagocouponconfessions.blogspot.com/2011/03/giveaways_27.html

    I blogged about the giveaway!

    TaraTagli at gmail dot com

    #1

  • Courtney S March 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    I’m a little of both but usually try more wild options. I really want to try the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers. They sound amazing.

  • Tara March 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    http://chicagocouponconfessions.blogspot.com/2011/03/giveaways_27.html

    I blogged about the giveaway!

    TaraTagli at gmail dot com

    #2

  • Tara March 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    http://chicagocouponconfessions.blogspot.com/2011/03/giveaways_27.html

    I blogged about the giveaway!

    TaraTagli at gmail dot com

    #3

  • Eugenie March 28, 2011 at 11:57 am

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardewu/status/52413640598503424

  • Howell March 28, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardhlee/status/52419946701004801

  • Jessica March 28, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    3/28 daily tweet
    http://twitter.com/jjak2003/status/52426329945145344

  • Eugenie March 28, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardewu/status/52433652734365697

  • Howell March 28, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardhlee/status/52437014238330880

  • domestic diva March 28, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    The kicked-up queso sounds great.

  • Jessica March 29, 2011 at 8:32 am

    3/29 daily tweet
    http://twitter.com/jjak2003/status/52724842360872960

  • Carol Bryant March 29, 2011 at 10:26 am

    I like the Big Mouth Bites Wild. Thanks for the giveaway.

  • Eugenie March 29, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardewu/status/52883999919583232

  • Jessie C. March 29, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I’m Wild with my food choices.
    tcarolinep at gmail dot com

  • Jessie C. March 29, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Shared on fB@tcarolinep JessieKatie S
    1

  • Jessie C. March 29, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Shared on fB@tcarolinep JessieKatie S
    2

  • Jessie C. March 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    tweet.http://twitter.com/tcarolinep/status/52894937540329472

  • Jessie C. March 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    blogged.http://tcarolinep.blogspot.com/2011/03/giveaway-frugal-novice.html
    1

  • Jessie C. March 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    blogged.http://tcarolinep.blogspot.com/2011/03/giveaway-frugal-novice.html
    2

  • 1 3 4 5 6 7 10