Chili’s Wild or Mild Review & Giveaway – Frugal Novice

Chili’s Wild or Mild Review & Giveaway

I was wild.

Yep, that’s right – me. Wild.

With the menu at Chili’s, anyway.

Chili’s has a new “Wild or Mild” menu right now and Brian and I got the chance to go review it. My family loves Chili’s, so this was right up our alley. Seriously, J asks to go to Chili’s any time we pass it! This time we left the boys at our friends’ house (thanks, friends!) and got to enjoy a date night.

On the “Wild or Mild” menu, there’s an equal counterpart in dish options on either side. You can choose from:

  • Kicked Up Queso or Skillet Queso
  • Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites or Big Mouth Bites
  • Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas or Bacon Ranch Chicken Quesadillas
  • Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers or Crispy Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers

We tend to like our food spicy, so we took a walk on the wild side and ordered the Kicked Up Queso, Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites and the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers.

The Kicked Up Queso has the regular skillet queso base with chipotle spice, pico de gallo and fire-roasted jalapenos added to well, kick up the flavor a bit. I’ve always been a fan of the skillet queso, and liked this too. What did Brian think?

Brian ordered the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites for his entree. This consists of four peppercorn-crusted mini burgers with jalapeno-mayo, jalapenos and American cheese. Just like the regular Big Mouth Bites, they’re served with crispy onion strings and homestyle fries.

And I ordered the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers. I have had them before and love them, and the spiciness sounded really good so I went ahead and kept with the “wild” theme for the menu.

We loved everything we tried, so much that we decided we’d probably end up ordering the exact same things next time we eat at Chili’s. Brian said the burgers are some of his favorite he’s had because the level of spiciness is just right, and I especially hope they keep the Kicked Up Queso. Speaking of Queso, click the coupon below to sign up for Chili’s e-mail club and you’ll get a coupon for a FREE queso!


Right now Chili’s has a fun promotional site, Shout Out to Eat Out. Go create your Wild or Mild avatar and you’ll be entered in a daily contest to win a $20 Chili’s gift card. The avatar with the most votes at the end of the promotion will win a trip to Vegas (Wild) or Disney (Mild)! Check out my avatar – don’t I look, um… interesting?

You probably noticed the “giveaway” in the title of this post, and are wondering just what I’m giving away. Well, wonder no longer…

One lucky reader will win a $20 gift card to Chili’s so you can try out their great menu items for yourself! This contest is open to all U.S. and Canadian residents. Entries will be accepted until the end of the day (midnight CST) Monday, April 4.

Mandatory Entry: Are you Wild or Mild with your food choices? Answer below and also tell me which item from the Wild or Mild menu you’re most excited about trying.

(Only valid after the required entry has been completed)

Please leave a comment for each extra entry – if you blog about this giveaway and get 3 entries, for example, comment 3 times.

  • Click the Facebook “Share” button below this post to share it on your FB wall {2 extra entries}
  • Click the “Tweet” button below this post to share it on your Twitter feed –  can do up to two times per day {1 extra entry per tweet}
  • Blog about this giveaway and link it back here {3 extra entries}
  • Sign up to get my updates in your e-mail {2 extra entries}
  • Subscribe to my RSS feed {2 extra entries}
  • Follow me on Twitter {1 extra entry}
  • “Like” Frugal Novice on Facebook {1 extra entry}
  • Unlimited Extra Entry Option: Leave a NEW comment on as many other posts as you like and get one entry for each comment (entering another giveaway counts too). Be sure to let me know which posts you commented on below.

Note: Chili’s provided me with a gift card to review their Wild or Mild Menu and one gift card for this giveaway. Any opinions provided in this post are honest and are my own.

You Might Also Like

  • DANIELLE W April 4, 2011 at 1:55 am

    I am a mild person but i would try the Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas even though they not mild they look to good not to try

    texaswaitress (at) live (dot) com

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:32 am

    I am WILD! I’d like to try the Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers
    Digicat {at} Sbcglobal {dot} Net

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:33 am

    I shared on Facebook #1
    Name: Carol Anderson
    Digicats @ sbcglobal.net (my FB e-mail)
    Digicat @ sbcglobal.net (my regular e-mail)

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:33 am

    I shared on Facebook #2
    Name: Carol Anderson
    Digicats @ sbcglobal.net (my FB e-mail)
    Digicat @ sbcglobal.net (my regular e-mail)

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:34 am

    I like you on Facebook:
    Name: Carol Anderson
    Digicats @ sbcglobal.net (my FB e-mail)
    Digicat @ sbcglobal.net (my regular e-mail)

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:36 am

    #1 Your giveaway is posted on my blog
    http://carolsbloggys.blogspot.com/2008/10/contests-from-our-bloggy-friends.html
    digicat {at} sbcglobal {dot} net

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:36 am

    #2 Your giveaway is posted on my blog
    http://carolsbloggys.blogspot.com/2008/10/contests-from-our-bloggy-friends.html
    digicat {at} sbcglobal {dot} net

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:37 am

    #3 Your giveaway is posted on my blog
    http://carolsbloggys.blogspot.com/2008/10/contests-from-our-bloggy-friends.html
    digicat {at} sbcglobal {dot} net

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:38 am

    I subscribe to your e-mails/updates through e-mail
    Digicat {at} sbcglobal.net
    #1

  • Carolsue April 4, 2011 at 2:39 am

    I subscribe to your e-mails/updates through e-mail
    Digicat {at} sbcglobal.net
    #2

  • Jessica April 4, 2011 at 5:07 am

    4/4 daily tweet
    http://twitter.com/jjak2003/status/54847527551381504

  • SaraLee E April 4, 2011 at 5:11 am

    DT
    http://twitter.com/#!/s8r8l33/status/54848509639270400

  • Marcia Goss April 4, 2011 at 6:17 am

    Tweet.
    http://twitter.com/#!/mgoss123/status/54864109807734784

  • Carol F April 4, 2011 at 6:27 am

    I’m mild and I’d like to try the Crispy Sweet Maple BBQ Chicken Crispers

    carolkfoster at comcast dot net

  • Carol F April 4, 2011 at 6:28 am

    subscribed via email
    carolkfoster at comcast dot net

  • Carol F April 4, 2011 at 6:30 am

    subscribed via email 2
    carolkfoster at comcast dot net

  • barbara wright April 4, 2011 at 7:30 am

    My food tastes are wild. I would really like to try everything on their menu, but the first one I would try would be the Blazin’ Big Mouth Bites

  • barbara wright April 4, 2011 at 7:31 am

    I shared on facebook http://www.facebook.com/barbarawr/posts/201179369915582

  • barbara wright April 4, 2011 at 7:32 am

    I subscribe with google reader
    #1

  • barbara wright April 4, 2011 at 7:32 am

    I subscribe with google reader
    #2

  • barbara wright April 4, 2011 at 7:33 am

    I follow you on twitter – bsw529

  • barbara wright April 4, 2011 at 7:33 am

    I like you on facebook – barbara wright

  • freebies city April 4, 2011 at 7:45 am

    depends on the day and mood..sometimes wild,some mild..can’t go wrong with their ribs and chilli cheese fries

    jdmimi at gmail dot com

  • Eugenie April 4, 2011 at 9:51 am

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardewu/status/54916498514391041

  • Howell April 4, 2011 at 10:00 am

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardhlee/status/54919521659654144

  • Allison L April 4, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Daily Tweet 4/4
    http://twitter.com/#!/crazylicious85/status/54942228195450880

  • dddiva April 4, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    RSS

  • dddiva April 4, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    RSS 2

  • Mir April 4, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    I usually go for medium if given the choice but in this case I’d pick mild. Would love to try the Bacon Ranch Chicken Quesadillas

  • WinneratLife April 4, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    I’m definitely a fan of eating on the ‘wild’ side and I already love Chili’s, so i can’t wait to try their new menu. First on my list? The Kicked Up Queso. I’m a big fan of the chips & queso, but always thought it needed a little bit of extra jalapeno’s or spices. Their salsa is perfect already.

  • WinneratLife April 4, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I follow you on twitter (@winneratlife)

  • Eugenie April 4, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardewu/status/55006268988985345

  • Mari April 4, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    I am WILD.

  • Mari April 4, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    I follow via twitter (LuckyDuckyToo)

  • Mari April 4, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    I like you on FB (Mari Doug)

  • Mari April 4, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    I’m a subscriber.
    #1

  • Mari April 4, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    I’m a subscriber.
    #2

  • Howell April 4, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/wizardhlee/status/55009939235676161

  • Amy S April 4, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    I like it wild themed lol. Would love to try Crispy Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers.

  • Amy S April 4, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I signed up to get updates via email (entry 1)

  • Amy S April 4, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I signed up to get updates via email (entry 2)

  • Laura Emerson April 4, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    I am definitely on the wild side when it comes to food. I would most like to try the Jalapeno Chicken Quesadillas

  • Laura Emerson April 4, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    I follow on GFC.

  • Laura Emerson April 4, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    I like you on Facebook.

  • Laura Emerson April 4, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    I subscribe in Google Reader.

  • Joanne Schultz April 4, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Wild for me!!
    I’d go for the kicked-up questo!
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Joanne Schultz April 4, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    #1
    shared on facebook – can’t post the direct link since it says I’m sharing a link with someone else.
    -Joanne Schultz. http://www.facebook.com/js2222

  • Joanne Schultz April 4, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    #2
    shared on facebook – can’t post the direct link since it says I’m sharing a link with someone else.
    -Joanne Schultz. http://www.facebook.com/js2222

  • 1 7 8 9 10